Distorted

3 Mar

This was quite the tough photo challenge topic.  I had to look through all the photos that I had filed!  But I found a beauty of a photo.

This was taken at Colchester Zoo in the Playa Patagonia Tunnel.  This is, apparently, the largest straight underwater tunnel in Europe!  It was an amazing experience walking through this tunnel with the Patagonian sealions swimming back and forth overhead!

Playa Patagonia Tunnel in Colchester Zoo

11 Responses to “Distorted”

  1. knudsens 3 March 2012 at 21:03 #

    I like it.

  2. Cee Neuner 3 March 2012 at 21:24 #

    Excellent. I actually get dizzy in aquariums like this!!! Marvelous!

  3. sonsothunder 4 March 2012 at 00:57 #

    I got dizzy from this shot…

  4. Cris 5 March 2012 at 04:48 #

    Nice job, although I think that would give me claustrophobia—all that water on top of my head. The Omaha, Nebraska Zoo has a tunnel like that, although not nearly so long, from what you’re saying. I could at least see the other end.

    Please feel free to drop by and view my interpretation of Distorted:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/weekly-photo-challenge-distorted/

    • Yelly 5 March 2012 at 13:34 #

      It might seem claustrophobic, and I must admit, at the time I was feeling it slightly. But it was only because there were a considerable amount of people in the tunnel on the day we went to visit the zoo. It was, mostly, a surreal experience! I really want to go again soon!

      • Cris 5 March 2012 at 13:36 #

        What’s fun about these huge zoos is that you can hardly take it all in in a single day. It makes coming back all the more exciting. Unfortunately, the Omaha zoo is now several hours away by car. I’d love to get back there. It’s the best zoo by far that I’ve ever been to.

  5. LivE 5 March 2012 at 12:31 #

    what an amazing experience that must have been! 🙂

    • Yelly 5 March 2012 at 13:34 #

      it was…very! 🙂

  6. Broken Light Photography Collective 7 March 2012 at 23:33 #

    Beautiful photo! Love the composition, and the water, the people, and the sea life. Very nice. I am a part of a new photography group/blog. We would welcome this or others if you are a match for the site and want to submit. Let me know.
    http://brokenlightcollective.wordpress.com
    All the best.

Leave a Reply

