We have bread!

19 Feb

I have the biggest grin on my face at the moment as I have made bread!  Well, focaccia is a kind of bread, so I guess I can claim that right?  Virtually speechless as am really, really, really pleased with myself!

This was the dough being coaxed to rise a second time.  I was a bit worried as the dough was really wet.  The book did say that the dough would be wet but I wasn’t sure it was meant to be THAT wet!  I was very worried.  I’d tried to make bread before and failed, quite miserably.

focaccia dough

But it did come out beautifully I think!

Salt and pepper focacciaThis was the salt and pepper focaccia.

FocacciaRoasted vegetable focaccia on the left and the salt and pepper on the right.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “We have bread!”

  1. SmallHouseBigGarden 3 March 2012 at 22:57 #

    What a fantastic outcome!!! they both look amazingly tasty! would you make it again? How long was it from the start of the recipe to the finished product?

    • Yelly 4 March 2012 at 11:47 #

      I have done it again. There are 2 stages of proving…I think it would take approximately 3 hours from start to finish 🙂

      • SmallHouseBigGarden 4 March 2012 at 15:24 #

        that’s not bad at all! a perfect way to spend time on an afternoon at home!

      • Yelly 4 March 2012 at 17:31 #

        absolutely. perfect time to catch up on reading…and ironing while waiting for the bread to rise 🙂

Leave a Reply

