One-a-week

16 Feb

Post A Week 2012

 

 

 

I’ve declared (whether officially or unofficially, although I think the little doodad — a current favourite word — on the right hand side of my blog makes it sort of official, doesn’t it?) that I have committed to writing one post a week for 2012.

I’ve done the post a day challenge last year and it wasn’t the easiest of things to do.  I think the words simply don’t flow when you try too hard to be creative.  I needed the structure and the discipline that posting every single day created so that I could write.  But I discovered that if I really wanted to I could write; that to me is an amazing reassurance.

I think the key to writing is to allow the ideas to flow and to brew in your head so that they are able to come out in a steady stream.  The only way to do that is to ease the pressure.  So that’s what I’m doing this year.  The goal is still to blog as often as possible, to write as much as I can so that my writing style does, eventually, evolve into something that is uniquely mine, and to write so that when people read what I’ve wrote, it sounds like me and not an amalgamation of my favourite authors’ writing styles.  But I’m removing the pressure factor and taking my foot off the pedal.  I’m allowing myself the structure of setting the quota of one post a week so that I have a little wriggle room and I don’t feel so pressured into churning things out.  I rather like the idea that my blog entries are finessed out of me rather than beaten out of me by the writing taskmaster!

So there it is.

I am writing a post a week for 2011.  And, funnily enough, I think I’m writing more than that.

To quote Martha Stewart, that is a good thing!

2 Responses to “One-a-week”

  1. SmallHouseBigGarden 17 February 2012 at 15:54 #

    I imagine WordPress initiates various “challenges” for business reasons: if people aren’t blogging A LOT the company isn’t successful.
    To be honest, I think the post a day challenge leads to a lot of bad writing and stupid posts. I know that’s a blanket, pejorative statement to which there are exceptions…some bloggers are ALWAYS at the top of the game and have worthwhile content on a daily basis, but I think they are rare!

    I couldn’t post something every day for a myriad of reasons, but I can definitely say something weekly, sometimes on consecutive days, I only recently started blogging and want it to be fun and enjoyable so I agree with you, Yelly, about dialing back the pressure to churn things out.
    This was an excellent topic, btw! I’m very interested to read how others feel about the challenges!

    • Yelly 18 February 2012 at 20:12 #

      I’d love for people to let me know how they feel. I did enjoy the challenge of the Postaday thing. I’d stopped writing for the longest time and it was a way to sort of release me from the inertia.

      But I find that without the pressure, my writing muses aren’t cowering in the background and are very happy to come out and play 🙂

Leave a Reply

