Happy birthday Ma!

27 Jan

I seriously need to go home.

Not because there’s a family emergency…well, in a way this is an emergency.  I’m running out of photos of my mom to post on her birthday!  I’ve just posted a poem on Facebook in honour of my mom’s birthday and I had to look through my photos to find a picture that I hope will be something she approves of.

My mom sort of hates having her photo taken because she says that she doesn’t know how to smile for photos.  I don’t think she’s ever used the word weird, but she’s always said that she doesn’t look good in pictures.  I disagree.  My mom looks good in photos when she doesn’t try to look good!  Like every child, they think their mother is the most beautiful woman in the world and I am definitely not any different.  Her university graduation photo is one of my favourite photos.  I’m fairly sure my dad took one look at her and went “hubba-hubba!” (the fact that she trained in his lab makes me want to wiggle my eyebrows at my dad! hahahaha!).

I miss my mom.  I miss watching her watch the tv at an angle (she doesn’t look at the telly directly for some reason!  she’s always done so, for as long as I can remember).  I miss how she cries at everything (yes, she will cry at a Hallmark or a Kodak commercial!).  I miss her gentle smile and her gentle touch and how she fusses over us when we’re ill.  I miss her cooking, especially when she makes a huge production (when I was little, every Saturday morning, she would make coconut macaroons and Sunday evenings were creme caramel evenings!).  I miss watching her glasses slip down her nose when she’s reading something intently.  I miss the sound of her voice, even when she’s telling me off for not doing something she’s asked me to do (as mothers are wont to do).  Most of all, I miss her hugs.  I think I miss them the most now because I’m ill and want to be taken cared of, tucked in bed, and fed and given 7Up.

Today is my mom’s birthday and I’m not with her.  I miss her.  I know she misses me terribly.  I hope she knows that there is nothing that I want more in this world than to be able to hug her and wish her happy birthday in person!

Happy birthday Mama!

Happy birthday Mom!

2 Responses to “Happy birthday Ma!”

  1. SmallHouseBigGarden 27 January 2012 at 01:13 #

    Mothers are quite simply amazing!! They can fix anything as far as their children go–taking away whatever ails or hurts them by a touch or a smile. 🙂 I’m sure it isn’t lost on you that writing about your mother completely took care of your writer’s block!!!

    She will certainly be touched by your words and thoughts! the best presents are the ones that come from the heart and this posting is definitely one of those!

    • Yelly 27 January 2012 at 09:18 #

      Aww bless! Thanks! There’s an 8-hour difference between Manila and the UK so I gave her a call last night.

      And yes, I’ve always found it easy to write about my mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

