The epic journey to Leeds

3 Jan

A normal journey to Leeds from Colchester will take about 4 hours.  If you include the train journey from Harwich, it would be about 5 hours, give or take a few minutes.  I travelled to Leeds today to help manage a conference.  It took me a little longer to get to Leeds.

In total, the journey took nearly 8 hours!

The first draft of this post was mostly whinging.  I was writing it while the train I was on was stuck on a bridge with the wind howling.  I wasn’t in the best of moods, obviously.  But as luck would have it, my wifi signal (from my trusty little myfi thingmabob) wasn’t cooperating.  So I saved my draft and switched off the laptop and waited it out (…and waited and waited…well, you get the idea).

It was a Murphy’s Law day of travelling.  The train from Colchester was delayed due to signalling problems at London Liverpool street.  What would normally take under an hour took nearly 3 hours.  It was certainly a saving grace that there weren’t any service disruptions on the tube.  I managed to catch the 10:35 train out of King’s Cross to Leeds.  I thought the adventure ended there.  It didn’t.  The Leeds leg was plagued with signalling issues as well and what was usually a 2-hour trip turned into a 5-hour trip!

I caught up on my reading and snoozed a bit…I mean, what could you do?  It wouldn’t do me any good to pace the aisles really.

I finally got to Leeds (and encountered hail!) and finally managed to start working.  Today was certainly…interesting.  But that’s where I’ll stop.  I think I’ve whinged enough.  I’m where I’m meant to be, safe and sound.  I’ve got that to be thank ful for!

Tomorrow is another day!

 

Leave a Reply

