Me!

16 Dec

This week’s photo challenge is to post a self-portrait.  I’m not one to post pictures of myself online (except on Facebook) as I really would much rather be the anonymous 30-something sometimes whiner that I am.  So I’ll post a picture of my work desk in the Philippines.  It was at a job where I felt the most comfortable in my skin.  It was at a place where everyone worked hard because they believed in something and they believed that by working together, they would achieve something great.

I miss the feeling of camaraderie.  I miss being respected for who I am and not simply for what I can do so someone else can claim the glory of work well done.  I miss my personal space being respected.  I miss working in an environment where profanity is not something that one hears every other sentence.  I miss being able to work in a quietly productive environment and my need for quiet being respected.

Obviously I don’t work there right now.  But I believe that soon I will find the job that fits me.  God will take me to it.

My PSALM Office Desk July 2007

 

9 Responses to “Me!”

  1. ceceliafutch 18 December 2011 at 16:44 #

    Best to you as you find your path to your work.

    • Yelly 18 December 2011 at 17:52 #

      aww bless! thanks very much! x

  2. amira 18 December 2011 at 19:05 #

    you sound like me 🙂
    nice corner of your world …

  3. amira 18 December 2011 at 19:07 #

    and good luck in finding a new space to be yourself.
    all the best wishes 🙂

  4. jakesprinter 18 December 2011 at 21:50 #

    Nice Entry for the challenge 🙂

  5. Madman 21 December 2011 at 09:45 #

    Photos of people’s places can tell so many stories… 🙂 Thank you for the share!
    Greetings from Switzerland,

  6. Amy 21 December 2011 at 18:11 #

    A person’s desk is a great self portrait. 🙂

  7. Just Ramblin' Pier 22 December 2011 at 20:02 #

    Someone’s works space is very much a self-portrait. I hope you find your needed work space soon. : )

Leave a Reply

