Prayer is as prayer does

14 Dec

I’d love to properly claim to be religious.  I grew up in church, went to Sunday School, taught Sunday School and sang in the church choir.  When asked, I tell people that I am a Christian, and that I grew up Methodist.  I’m very proud of my Methodist heritage (my father is Jewish and I embrace that too, as I appreciate the Jewish teachings because it is part of the foundations of the Christian faith).  But I sometimes wonder if I am letting God’s light shine through me.

I am blessed because I grew up in a family that prays.  I believe that prayer gives people strength.  To plagiarise Lady Gaga, it doesn’t matter if you love Him, or some other him, I believe that prayer centres an individual.  I am blessed because I grew up in a household largely founded on the Christian faith (and even though my father is still waiting for the Messiah, prayer is a large part of his faith as well and some of the most evocative prayers are Hebrew prayers!) and prayer is an important part of that.  I am blessed because I grew up knowing that I can take my worries to God anytime, anywhere in prayer.

That’s where I go to be brave.  I go to God in prayer for help in times of trouble, for support in challenging times, in times of sadness, in times of success, in times of gratitude and in times of joy, always, always in times of joy.  I love the way prayer centres me and helps me focus.  I love the way it is almost comfort on tap.  God doesn’t always answer you right away, and the answer isn’t always what you want to hear, but knowing that you can take ANYTHING in prayer is a comfort.  Because in these trying times when people feel desperately alone, I know I’m not.  I know that I’ve got a hotline to the Big Guy who always has my back.

Leave a Reply

