A date with the nutritionist

13 Dec

Funnily enough, today, after speaking to the nutritionist, I was told to eat more…breakfast, that is.

Since I moved to the UK, I’ve started not having breakfast.  My breakfast usually is 3 cups of coffee and my diabetes meds.  Which isn’t really good because coffee isn’t the best way to break my fast.  I know this, but my perennial excuse is that I’m too busy to have breakfast.  There’s getting ready in the morning and doing my hair, putting on my face (I don’t really put make up on but I do have a 3-step pre-make-up regimen which I like to take time over), making sure I’ve got keys and everything else I need and then I rush out the door.

Mind you, I had great hopes for my appointment with the nutritionist.   But I was to be severely disappointed.  I expected to see this fit person with a healthy glow who would help me put together a meal plan so that I ate better so that I can cope with my diabetes better.  I was defnitely disappointed.  The nutritionist I saw was no poster child for healthy eating and healthy living.  There was no healthy glow and the person who met me at the door was definitely not fit.  I actually thought this person was a patient who was leaving!

I sat there feeling completely frustrated because I felt like I shouldn’t be talking to this person.  First this person tells me that they were in a small state of panic because someone was supposed to see them but that my nutritionist had forgotten to send out his appointment letter (talk about not encouraging faith in this person’s capabilities!).  Second, this person was about three times my size (I kid you NOT!), and I’m not exactly the most petite of persons!  Third, and I think this point was the worst, I spent the better part of 45 minutes trying to get something useful from this nutritionist and there was nothing useful coming from this person (at one point we were talking about how good their pecan pie dessert was!).  This person was not only obviously unprepared for my visit because there were  no references to what a diabetic needed to eat and not eat, there was no suggestion of a meal plan, and this nutritionist didn’t have the right literature to give me.

It wasn’t a complete waste of time though.  I came away from that meeting knowing that I was doing something right.  Talk about a glaring example of NOT practicing what one preaches.  This might be something the NHS might want to look at?  Or maybe I’m just being terribly catty!

 

Leave a Reply

