Off on a writing break

31 Oct

I have finally decided not to join NaNoWriMo.  I’ve been dithering about it.  I’ve got so many ideas and in my head, 2000 words a night would be definitely possible.  If I had healthy wrists.  I’ve had my steroid injection to reduce the swelling in my wrist tendon and hopefully, in 6 weeks, when I go back and have the right wrist done.  So with a heavy heart, I’ve decided to not indulge this year.  But definitely next year.  Definitely!

My wrists really need rest.  So I’m going to try to take the rest of the week off.  I’ll jot down notes about my thoughts during the week so that I can try to catch up on the weekend.

A Girl Writing, Netherlandish, c1500

3 Responses to “Off on a writing break”

  1. stigmatascript 31 October 2011 at 21:12 #

    I know the feeling.

    I’ve got the triple threat. I draw, paint, write, play the piano, and work in a repetitive job environment. Other deeds need not be mentioned… but my wrists are absolutely killing me, and I’m only 25.

    I assume I’ll need some sort of surgery within the next 5 years.

    God help us. lol

    • Yelly 6 November 2011 at 10:59 #

      Mind you, the steroid shot is doing me a load of good. I’m going to see if they can’t do my right hand sooner than planned because there’s quite a huge improvement! 🙂

      One thing I have learned, if you’ve been working with your hands, make sure that when you have to wash your hands, make the water temp as hot as you can handle it. Cold water will make things worse. If you can get away with resting your hands for an hour first before washing your hands, that’s better. But if you absolutely have to wash your hands, wash it with water that’s hot 🙂

  2. knotrune 1 November 2011 at 10:20 #

    I’m sure that’s a sensible decision, if sad. But there’s always next year. Or speech recognition software 🙂

Leave a Reply

