Turning the air blue

18 Oct

I would like to think that I’m not too much of a delicate soul.  I’d like to think that I’ve grown up a little, am not to wide-eyed with wonder, slightly toughened up and a little more street-smart now.  But street-smart and toughened up does not mean accepting that having to swear every other sentence is the norm, not in my books anyway.

Since I’ve moved to the UK, I’ve learned more swear phrases than I care to mention.  Mind you, people are always mostly polite and when they do blurt out an expletive, I find it endearing when they apologise for it by saying something like, “Oh pardon my french!”

I never realised, really, how disruptive to one’s psyche swearing is.  I was raised to never swear.  I remember once, when I started using the S word, my father sat me down and gave me a stern lecture about how a lady should never swear, and all his children were raised to behave properly.  Also, being someone who has grown up in church, I was taught that “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable…” (Philippians 4:8) that is how we should behave.

I work with someone who has a penchant (and that’s a gross understatement) for swearing.  It seems like there is a swear word in every other sentence.  When I first started working with her, it was a novelty…and I thought I could cope.  I still cannot believe that a woman, a mother would have such a potty mouth!  I find myself gritting my teeth and actually swearing, too, in my head.  She would probably laugh this off and say something flippant like, “Oh I do love having someone to corrupt!”  But I very, very rarely swear and I find that I do it more and more in my head now.  I find myself in constant prayer for patience, for God to make her stop swearing and for my tongue to stick to the roof of my mouth, so I, myself, don’t swear, even in thought.

There are days when I find myself looking up to check whether the air hasn’t turned blue yet with all the swearing.  I’ve asked that she not swear, and she tries to humour me (which includes remarks about not being allowed to swear).  This lasts a few hours and then she reverts back to type.

I find it very unnerving that she does not make more of an effort.  I make an effort to adjust to her, shall we say, quirks, the least she can do in return is respect my sensitivities.  It’s not an environment that I want to be in, and it’s not an environment that I feel particularly productive in.

I’m at my wits’ and patience’s end, really.

 

Woman Swearing, from http://lacepearlsandchocolate.blogspot.com

 

Photo credits:

Woman swearing – http://lacepearlsandchocolate.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

