Happy birthday Duckie!

5 Oct

Duckie

It is my baby sister’s birthday today!

I’ve been writing and rewriting (as much as my hands allow me to) this tribute to my dearest little sister for weeks now but my heart fills with so much love that it is difficult to put into words the wealth of emotion that fills me.  In lieu of actually writing, I rang her last night to greet her a very happy birthday to which she sleepily replied, “Happy birthday to you too!”

When she was born, she was my walking, talking, crying, eating (and oh, how she loved to eat!) doll.  Her baby hair was silky and straight and was lovely to practice my braiding skills on, and when asked she would sit beautifully still.  I remember being in awe of this little girl who taught herself how to read.  It was amazing!  At four years old, she sat herself down, opened one of the broadsheet newspapers and started reading.  It wasn’t just reading the words out loud, this little dynamo understood what she was reading!  How she managed to do that is still, and will probably always be, a mystery.

This girl has never shied from expressing her opinions.  I can’t remember how old she was, I think she was eight or nine, when we went to watch a Repertory Philippines production of Into The Woods.  It was the scene where  Cinderella’s Prince seduces the Baker’s Wife.  The prince sings “…Let us meet the moment unblushed/Life is often so unpleasant/ You must know that as a peasant/ Best to take the moment present/ As a present for the moment..” and as his voice fades, my little sister, into the quiet stillness of the theatre (despite the obvious scene of infidelity, the scene was strangely poignant), declares quite audibly, in obvious disgust, “YUCK!!!”  And I kid you not, very nearly the whole theatre turned round to find out where that loud commentary came from!

To my dearest, dearest Duckie, my clever girl, have a wonderful Wednesday (did you know you were born on a Wednesday?).  I hope the recitation goes well!  I wish I could hug you tight and celebrate your birthday with you.  You deserve the choicest of the Lord’s blessings on your very special day.

A sister’s love is special
in oh so many ways
Now miles stretch between us
and minutes turn to days.

We’ve shared so much as children
the tears, the joys, the pain
A lifetime spent together
those memories remain.

In times gone by we’ve pondered
the paths our lives have taken
Knowing that in spite of this
our sister love unshaken.

A sister’s love is special
in ways that are unspoken
Still that binding force exists
our sister love unbroken.
~Unknown

One Response to “Happy birthday Duckie!”

  1. Layla 6 October 2011 at 05:23 #

    Thank you! Bibe Duck loves this. Love you ate! 🙂

    PS. The recit went well. I LOVE YOU, ATTY SALAO! Hehehe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

