Splints galore!

17 Sep

I haven’t been well.  My hands have been giving me problems.  I thought it was a simple case of RSI.  According to the doctor, it can be carpal tunnel syndrome, which is a lot more serious than I thought.  After the doctor said she thought it was carpal tunnel syndrome, she said I had to wear splints on both hands for two months.  Then after two months, I’d be assessed again and we would go from there (going from there might be surgery…and I do NOT want to go there!).

Carpal tunnel syndrome is pressure on the median nerve — the nerve in the wrist that supplies feeling and movement to parts of the hand.  After I’d seen the doctor yesterday, I went online and checked.  I’d heard about carpal tunnel syndrome ages ago via an email that was sent round with gruesome photos of the operation that was done to fixwhat was wrong.  It put the fear of God in me, so ever since I’ve been careful with how I use the computer and how I type and how my work station is set up.

Clearly, I haven’t been careful enough.  Well, I’m all for wearing splints.  I’ll wear it as often as possible, if it means I don’t have to go through an operation.  I need my hands to work!

3 Responses to “Splints galore!”

  1. ceceliafutch 20 September 2011 at 12:08 #

    Best of luck for a speedy recovery WITHOUT surgery!

    • Yelly 20 September 2011 at 15:53 #

      Thanks Cecelia! xx

  2. gmae 23 September 2011 at 20:58 #

    I’m sorry I just read about this now! :c I fasted from too much internet browsing. Haha. I hope you get well soon! xoxo

Leave a Reply

