My hands

3 Sep

I may have a bad or worsening case of RSI.  My hands are ever so slightly swollen now (although I’ve always thought I’ve got chipolata fingers, really, cute [NOT] and pudgy!).  My palms seem to have a constant tingling feeling, and I feel shooting pain occasionally from the tip of my ring and middle fingers (on both hands) to my elbows.  I try not to think about it too much because I don’t really want to make too big a deal of it.  People at work are saying I should make every effort to make sure I prevent it from getting any worse.  So am wearing a hand support glove-thingy that has a metal brace (which I must admit helps).  I’ve also made sure I’ve included wrist rests and a gel mouse pad so that my wrists and hands are positioned correctly over the keyboard and the mouse.

Hand in wrist support, Sept 2011I am a worrier (and probably a tiny bit of a hypochondriac) and I worry that I’ll lose the use of my hands.  I worry that I won’t be able to use my hands to do my job.  I worry that I won’t be able to communicate as I use my phone and my computer to either text, tweet or email.

I get frustrated these days when I cook because it doesn’t really matter how I hold my cooking spoons, I will still feel pain or a strong needles-and-pins feeling.  When this happens, alarm bells go off in my head.  I never used to feel this.  And if it never used to bother me, then it can’t be good, can it?  Cooking and baking are both stress-relievers to me.  I can’t not be able to cook or bake.  Besides, how will I eat?!?

I’ve looked up RSI exercises.  I don’t care if I look silly at work.  I will do them.  I need to stop whatever this is from worsening.

Another thought has occured to me.  Is it really RSI or am I just getting old and my (then premature) osteoporosis is now really, really bad?

I’m hoping I’m doing enough to not make things worse.

2 Responses to “My hands”

  1. knotrune 5 September 2011 at 10:15 #

    You really need to go the doctor to get it checked out, just in case. You’re right, your hands are too important to risk. I got arthritis at the age of 20 and it’s horrible, the hands possibly being the worst bit. Not saying that’s what it is! It doesn’t sound the same as my symptoms at all 🙂 Just saying that it’s better to check, just in case there is a simple cure – they might need resting, which is hard, but way better than ruining them.

  2. ceceliafutch 5 September 2011 at 11:04 #

    See a doctor. It just may be something that has a simple remedy, or something more serious that needs medical attention Either way a doctor can help alleviate your concerns and may be able to help determine exactly what is going on. Find a doctor who will listen to and respect your concerns and work “with” you as a opposed to patronizing you. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

