My 5 books

25 Jul

Topic 199 suggested choosing the 5 most important books I’ve read.  Being a reader, this was not going to be an easy task because I was raised to read…and read a lot.

  1. The Bible – I grew up reading the Bible.  I grew up in church, I grew up going to Sunday School and Daily Vacation Church School, so naturally I grew up knowing how important the Bible was to my growth in faith.  It is my comfort when I need reassurance, it is my rule book when I need reining in, it is strength when my faith wanes.
  2. Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume – I loved this book.  I started reading this book when I was 10.  I felt so connected to this book.  Margaret was 11 (she was a year older than me at the time, but hey, what’s 12 months eh?), Margaret’s mother was Christian (mine too!) and her father was Jewish (yes, my dad is Jewish, he’s Filipino but he converted to Judaism when he lived in Israel; you could say there’s something about those kibbutzes!).  It was a book that I read over and over and over again.  It helped me that I wasn’t the only one with conflicting thoughts and it reassured me that I wasn’t a weirdo.
  3. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – it made me love my little sissypooes more and made me understand my mother’s relationship with her sisters.  I used to wonder what it was like to be rich, and there would be times when I wondered why there were things we had to do without.  But after reading about the March girls, being able to enjoy things sometimes and do without things sometimes wasn’t bad after all!
  4. Julie & Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously by Julie Powell – when my desire to blog was waning and my cooking was uninspired, this book gave me the boost that I needed.  It helped reignite my love of writing (even if people didn’t read my blog, I still really wanted to put my thoughts out there) and it helped me look at cooking differently.  Even if Julie Powell never reads my blog, I owe her a lot.  She helped me shake off the inertia.
  5. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I read this book at a difficult time in my life.  It helped me start my soul-searching and it helped me strengthen my resolve to do what had to be done and to choose the path I wanted to take.  I gave my friends copies of this book (a la Julia Roberts) because it was such a powerful book for me.  I thought it was necessary to share.
Leave a Reply

