Happy birthday Lola Gening!

17 Jul

My much-loved Lola Gening would’ve been 106 years old today.  I found this poem by Donna C Elkins online.  I think this puts into words my memories of my Lola and how her life has shaped me.  It’s called Grandma’s Lil Girl.  Of course I changed it a bit to fit me.

Lola, I was thinking of you today and a smile tickled my face.
Remembering all the things you taught me, like always to say grace.
I remember sitting in your lap while you read the Bible out loud,
To hear me sing a gospel song made you so proud.
I thought of those Saturday mornings I watched them fix your hair,
I remember crossing the street and hearing GIRL YOU BETTER STOP RIGHT THERE!!!
I remember the goodness you instilled in me though’ sometimes it doesn’t show,
You played a very special part in my life and I thought that you should know….
My childhood is filled with memories of you that you couldn’t buy with all the gold in the world,
And even though’ I am all grown up, at heart I will always be LOLA’S LIL’ GIRL!!!

Today is also my Kuya Werner’s birthday.  I can only hope that his birthday was very blessed and very happy!  🙂

Leave a Reply

