Thoughts on Harry Potter

7 Jul

After reading the books, listening to the audio tapes and watching the movies, I can’t believe we’ve finally reached the end of the phenomenon that is Harry Potter.  I’m sure it’s even tougher for the people who worked on the films and became a family because of it.  10 years of working with the same individuals is pretty much like developing a family.  While J.K. Rowling might have turned into this billionaire (with a heart of gold, I might add), she gave the world an amazing set of 7 books, an escape to a world like the rest of us normal individuals have never imagined (well, maybe some of us did, but those of us who did never put pen to paper, now did they?).  I think because the books were here baby, I think it was harder to finally write the end of the book.

I’m not going to watch the last installment of Harry Potter as soon as it comes out.  I think subconsciously it’s to postpone the inevitable…but postpone it, I will!  My excuse is that if I watch it with everyone else rushing to see it, the cinema will be noisy filled with kids oooohing and aaaahing over the film (I really am becoming ornery in my old age!) and I won’t be able to enjoy the film as much (and I want to savour it really as it is the LAST of the Potter films!).  So I am watching it a couple of weeks, maybe more, after the movie comes out in the cinemas.

As I watch the Harry Potter stars work their way on the red carpet in Trafalgar Square (as a true HP fan, I am glued to the live telecast of the premier on Sky!), I am torn between looking forward to watching how this all unfolds (of course I know how it ends, but I always look forward to seeing how they translate the book into a movie) and between not wanting it all to end!

Leave a Reply

