You by Joanna Briscoe – the epilogue

21 Jun

It’s such a simple thing really.  But I do get excited about these things.

Last month I wrote a review on the book You by Joanna Briscoe.  I’d been given the opportunity to read and review the book by Waterstones before the book hit the shelves.  As a sidebar, it does pay to get those cards that the people at the till constantly offer you!  So anyway, I procrastinated about reading the book, but once I had the time to stay in bed and read it (God bless bank holidays!), it was such a page turner!  Anyway, I finished the book, thought about how I felt about it and how it affected me and wrote my review and posted it on the Waterstones website.  And that, I thought, was the end of it.

Tonight, I got home from work, opened my laptop as soon as I got settled in and read my emails.  And lo, and behold, I see an email from someone from Bloomsbury, writing to me.  It was indirectly about my review.  It was to tell me about the YouTube video of the book trailer promoting the book.  Mind you, it wasn’t to say anything about my review.  It was just to say that they noticed that I wrote a review about the book and that they thought the video might interest me.  And me being me, well, I got all excited because in a teeny-tiny way, somehow, I registered in the Bloomsbury consciousness, that my review was somehow this tiny blip on their radar.  It made me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

And even as I write this, I feel sort of silly.  Because it wasn’t really an email of any consequence.  Not to anyone else in the world, maybe.  But it made me smile loads for the rest of the longest day of the year!

 

4 Responses to “You by Joanna Briscoe – the epilogue”

  1. ceceliafutch 22 June 2011 at 14:48 #

    Wonderful for you!!!! 🙂 Amazing how the little ways we are noticed bring so much joy to our lives. In a small way, the little “nods” are affirming and that is what we want (I think), to matter in some way no matter how small or big. Nice post. Good for you! Have a glorious day 🙂

    • Yelly 23 June 2011 at 19:01 #

      I replied to the email and they replied back! Apparently, am on their distribution list now! I can’t tell you how amazing that felt! Haha! 🙂 They’ve certainly made this little girl very, very happy!

  2. Joanna Briscoe 8 July 2011 at 21:46 #

    I found this on Google, and I’m so glad Bloomsbury contacted you, and it’s lovely to read your entry, and thank you for reviewing me. What a lovely blog to find! All the best for your website and to you. Joanna

    • Yelly 11 July 2011 at 08:05 #

      Oh wow! I see a post about this coming on! 😀 Sorry! Fan girl moment! Thank you for coming to visit my itty-bitty blog 🙂 I am honoured!

Leave a Reply

