Tattooed on my mind

30 May

The topic suggestion was to write about tattoos.  If I were to get a tattoo, what would I get?

At one point in my life, I really wanted to get a tattoo.  I don’t know why I was compelled to do so.  I actually spent a lot of time looking for the perfect tattoo.  I wanted to include several elements: a dragon, because I was born in the year of the dragon, the Star of David, to honour my father’s chosen faith, and a triquetra…not because of any leanings towards Wicca, but because I was always drawn to that shape.  Always.

But I’ve become a lot more pragmatic about things (A lot of things!  That’s a luxury age and retrospect gives you, you become more realistic about what you want and what you actually need!  Ha!  Listen to me attempting the “adult talk”!) and I’m not quite sure I want a tattoo now (mainly because I’m concerned about the healing part as I am a diabetic).  Although, to be honest, during certain fanciful moments (mostly after buying fish and chips from the local chippy and I happen to see the tattoo place across from the chip shop), I do wonder about the tattoo.

I want something else now.  Because I want it to mean something.  If I’m going to allow myself to be marked (and hopefully, if this is ever going to happen, quite artistically) it will have to be by a hummingbird.  And no, not because I’m such a huge fan of the Hummingbird Bakery books (now that would be taking my devotion to these no-fail recipes a wee bit too far!).  I like to think that by having a hummingbird inked on, it is some kind of blessing, some kind of hope that what it symbolises will be absorbed by my psyche (I did say I was being fanciful!).

According to some circles, a person who chooses a hummingbird is a person who takes great pleasure in spreading joy and love and beauty to all around them, and have the gift of taking that inner joy into new and different surroundings.  I loved that.  It would be lovely to be marked with a symbol of positivity, right?

Hummingbird

Leave a Reply

