New book!

19 May

One of the birthday presents I received was a book that I’d been saving up to get.  It’s Lorraine Pascale‘s Baking Made Easy.  I watched her programme on the Beeb a few months ago and she did, indeed, make baking look incredibly easy.  I’ve always loved baking but the recipes featured on her show on telly made me excited to see the book and try the recipes.

I was excited to try her recipes even more after visiting Ella’s Bakehouse in Covent Garden (it’s where she sells her adorable cakes).  The shop itself is light and airy and the staff were absolutely friendly (we were looking at the display and they gave us time to just look at the display and were helpful with suggestions).  The pretty cupcakes were style AND substance!  They were as pretty on the display case as they were on the Ella’s Bakehouse website.  They were amazing to look at but even better to eat!  I can’t say enough how delicious her cupcakes were!  My particular favourite was the peanut butter cupcake. I’d never tasted a more delicious peanut butter cupcake.  It was soft and moist and oh so peanut buttery.  What I loved the most (apart from the fact that it was peanut butter and I LOVE peanut butter!) was that it wasn’t a pretentious cupcake.  It really did taste like peanut butter (we’re talking frosting AND cake) without being overwhelming.  I think it’s become my all time favourite cupcake.

I’ve looked through the book, mentally marking which ones I wanted to try first.  I find the idea of making bread VERY daunting, but LP’s recipes make it seem to simple.  Watch this space for updates on my take on her recipes! 🙂

Oh joy!  I’ve got another toy! 😀

Lorraine Pascale's Baking Made Easy

Leave a Reply

