Still thinking about this!

16 May

We went to The Ship for my birthday lunch.  I had my usual slow cooked lamb shank which was melt-in-your-mouth-fall-off-the-bone delicious.  But it was the dessert that I’m still dreaming about.  I’m obsessed with food at the moment because I’ve got this stupid stomach bug and I can’t keep anything down for longer than half an hour.  I find that I’m always starving but the food doesn’t stay inside me long enough to satisfy that hunger!  Anyway, back to my perfectly perfect birthday pavlova.

The Ship's Strawberry and Mango PavlovaWhen they placed the plate in front of me, I knew a picture had to be taken.  It was almost too pretty not to eat!  Well, ALMOST.  The mangoes reminded me of my Mom’s thick mango juice with their tangy sweetness.  The cream on the yummy chewy meringue (I now need to learn how to make meringues from scratch!) was sweetened just right.  The strawberry coulis (at least I think it was strawberry coulis) was absolutely yummy!  I’m actually licking my lips while I’m writing this because it was just oh-so-good!

Empty Pavlova Plate!And this is what my plate looked after I demolished my pavlova!  🙂

I definitely recommend going to The Ship if you’re in Harwich.  It’s a small restaurant (it only has 24 places, I think) that doubles up as an art gallery.  Their food is well-prepared and the portions are generous.  Everytime we’ve had lunch or dinner there, we’ve never been disappointed.  You get amazing value for money: a 2-course Sunday lunch is £13 + drinks + service charge and a 3-course lunch menu is available Wednesdays-Saturdays for £15+ drinks + service charge.  The staff are friendly and attentive.  The restaurant is light and airy and while it is a small place, the large windows makes the room feel larger than it really is.  Make sure you book before you visit to avoid disappointment, because if they are fully booked, they will turn people away.

2 Responses to “Still thinking about this!”

  1. sanstorm 20 May 2011 at 21:49 #

    The food was very photogenic.
    🙂

    • Yelly 21 May 2011 at 07:59 #

      It was…was very, very edible too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

