I need a vacation

26 Apr

…from the impromptu vacation I’ve just had, also known as the Easter 4-day weekend!

I am battling what seems to be a mystery illness.  Although to be honest, I’ve never really been quite a 100% since I got really ill during the time that swine flu was rampaging through the UK (I suspect that I had swine flu because I had all the symptoms but I just treated it like normal flu–ironically, three weeks after I got sick, I started working for a swine flu centre!).

I sometimes worry that the doctor I’m seeing doesn’t seem to take my complaints seriously (which was why I stopped going to see the GP).  I also don’t want to be labeled as a hypochondriac and keep trying to consult with the GP because I get the feeling that most of my complaints aren’t taken as seriously.  I also try to make excuses for the GP and say to myself that sometimes the attention isn’t there because they’re really busy and their schedules are always packed.

So my symptoms are: fatigue, achy joints, feeling like I’m getting a fever, really sensitive stomach, intermittent diarrhea and constipation, nausea, intermittent pounding headaches, backpains, sinusitis.

Would anyone know what this might be?

3 Responses to “I need a vacation”

  1. Narendra 27 April 2011 at 13:41 #

    Oh Yelly..poor you..sounds terrible..you really need a good break to take care of ur health..please, please take care girl..get well soon.

  2. knotrune 28 April 2011 at 09:00 #

    I don’t know, but it sounds serious! If a complete rest isn’t making it go away, then you need to be more pushy with the GP, they are there to help you. Some of them can be a bit lazy, be the squeaky wheel that won’t just go away without them putting a bit of effort in! Not easy when fatigue is one of your symptoms though…

    Hopefully it will go away by itself, but there are some nasty things that can strike in the aftermath of flu.

  3. Yelly 28 April 2011 at 12:34 #

    Thanks Narendra and knotrune! I have been told to see a doctor over and over but I’ve put it off because I feel like I’m being a nuisance when I go to get checked. I will schedule a doctor’s appointment though…soon-ish!

Leave a Reply

