Lunch break musings

14 Apr

I’m sitting at my desk determined to write something down for today.  But I’ve been looking at a blinking cursor and I’ve found excuses to do other things instead of write on the blog.  I’ve come to the conclusion that the writing muses have gone out to lunch.

My thoughts bring me back to my trip to the Tower of London and my keen interest in Anne Boleyn.  Apart from the two princes in the tower, Anne Boleyn was one of the main reasons why I wanted to go see the Tower of London—the crown jewels were mostly an afterthought, pretty much like “since we’re here, we might as well…”

After going up the White Tower and going up the narrow turrets, we went out to the Tower Green and looked for the marker for where Anne Boleyn was executed.  A bit morbid but I wanted to see if they did anything to mark it.  And they did.  There was a modern glass sculpture marking the spot.  It wasn’t the exact spot but it was the general area where Anne Boleyn, Catherine Howard, Jane Boleyn, Lady Jane Grey and Margaret Poole were executed.

I wanted to sit down and just soak up the atmosphere but we didn’t have that much time.  I’d love to go back and just sit on one of the benches and just think and wonder about Anne Boleyn, who I thought was much maligned and very misunderstood.

Execution Memorial - Tower Green

Leave a Reply

