Happy Anniversary Aba and Ima!

12 Apr

40 years ago, they promised to have and to hold, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and health, until death parts them.  They’ve been through a lot of drama, deaths of parents, professional heartaches, periodical separation (caused by professional commitments), a multitude of disappointments, daughters letting them down (that would be me), but underlying all the trials was a love with a firm foundation that transcended age, religion, personal convictions and patience limitations.

I know that they both love each other because even when the other is trying their patience, even when the irritation is so palpable you can almost touch it, when they remember how much they love each other, suddenly the anger dissipates and next words are preceded by the phrase “If I didn’t love your mother/father so much…”  I know that they love each other so much because every word, every action, there is an element of consideration for the other.  And when I think of how sentimental they can get, it makes me just smile!

Happy anniversary to my parents!  May you have many more years of love together  I didn’t write the poem below, but it does put into words my anniversary wishes for you:

May you always be warmed by each other’s smile,
Always take time to walk and talk a while,
Always know deep down you’re each other’s best friend,
And enjoy the kind of love that grows and knows no end.
Wishing you will enjoy your ‘always’ kind of love!

4 Responses to “Happy Anniversary Aba and Ima!”

  1. liannouwen 14 April 2011 at 13:58 #

    Congratulations to your parents! I hope one day I’ll be celebrating my 40 year anniversary. The poem is beautiful!

  2. Jackie Paulson 1966 14 April 2011 at 14:44 #

    ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。
    *˛˚ღ •˚ ˚…just sprinkling a little Love on your Blog˚ ✰* ★
    ˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥”

    http://divorceissues.wordpress.com/

    Congrats! Jackie 🙂

  3. Narendra 14 April 2011 at 15:36 #

    yyyaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! Happy Aniv to your parents..
    ^^ for them.

  4. Susan Amestoy 15 April 2011 at 19:50 #

    Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    Take care and…congratulations!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

