First Lady In Purple

6 Apr

Whenever I see the colour purple or the colour violet I am reminded of two people.  One of them is celebrating their birthday today.

When I was little, she would let me sit next to her while she worked at the sewing machine.  I remember she had a red tomato shaped pin cushion that was on the first shelf of her amazing sewing machine.  She had 2 pairs of scissors.  When I was little, I wasn’t allowed to touch the silver pair of scissors because they were sharp and they were ever only used for cloth.  She had a smaller pair of scissors that had black handles.  I was allowed to carefully use them on paper.  Later, I figured that she used them to cut patterns.

When I was little, I felt like I was the best dressed little girl in the whole world (with the best-dressed Barbie doll too!).  I felt so special when she called me upstairs so that she could take my measurements down.  I would describe what I wanted and she would make it for me.  I remember thinking I could sit for hours watching her at the sewing machine.  I remember this black Singer sewing machine and I remember watching her feet nudge the treadle in this rhythmic motion.  I used to imagine that I was a princess watching my fairy godmother make a magic dress for me.

She taught me how to thread a needle, she taught me how to sew, she taught me how to crochet!  I remember that she helped me with my fifth grade project; she helped me make my apron.  She taught me how to use a sewing machine and how to thread the sewing machine’s bobbin.

When she had a store, she gave us treats from her little store.  She would give us Timtam cookies and little collectible glasses that had Nutella in them.  She would let us have PeeWee and this cheesy snack that I can’t remember the name of.

I could go on about my memories about my Tita Margie.  She is 75 today.  I wish I could give her a great big hug and tell her that I love her.  And that I may not talk about it much, and I may not really tell her at all that I appreciate every single thing that she’s done for me and my siblings, the little things and the big things.  That when I pray, I thank the Lord that she was there to take care of my mom when my mom was little, that she was there to make dresses for my mom and her 2 other younger sisters.  That every time I think about what kind of a big sister I am, I am measuring myself against her yardstick, her example.

Happy birthday Tita Margie! 🙂  I hope you have a wonderful day and I hope that you are doubly blessed today!

2 Responses to “First Lady In Purple”

  1. liannouwen 12 April 2011 at 08:26 #

    Tita Margie really sounds like a lovely person! Happy birthday to her. I like the thingy about the cloth scissors, my mom has them as well! Always been very carefull to prevent me to use them on paper 😉

    • Yelly 12 April 2011 at 18:14 #

      Oh she is! She’s taught me so many things! Even though she seems very stern and very strict, she is a softie when it comes to her nieces and nephews. We are very spoiled! 🙂

Leave a Reply

