Me, my bed and I

28 Mar

Are you like me?  I’m the person who can’t seem to sleep in unfamiliar surroundings right away.  If I’m not in my own bed,under my own duvet, in between my own sheets and in my own flat.  If I’m in a different environment, sleep is the most worrisome part because it takes me a few days to feel that I KNOW my surroundings (which is a little worrying as am only here for a couple of nights and it takes me at least 3 nights to get acclimatised!).

I’m away for work for a few days.  My day started  at the usual time, but I had a nearly 5-hour journey to lovely Durham.  I was under no illusions about how busy it’s going to be.  I should be sleepy now, and I know that I’m tired.  But I can’t seem to adjust to not sleeping in my own bed, in familiar surroundings.  I should start getting used to it.  But it’s not like I’m in a hotel at the moment.  It’s student accommodations.  Granted, it’s an ensuite and I have the room all to myself.  It’s still going to be a hard adjustment tonight.  I don’t think I’m going to sleep well.

I should stop complaining really.  It’s hardly spartan living conditions.  Apart from the lack of TV, I reckon you’d think you’d be in a Premiere Inn 🙂  Same decor!  Oh well!  It’s only for a couple of nights.  I think I’ll cope!  Well, I hope I can!

 

4 Responses to “Me, my bed and I”

  1. knotrune 28 March 2011 at 21:53 #

    I’m the same. Doesn’t help if the bed in question is harder than mine (almost inevitable) but mostly it’s just being somewhere different. I always sleep badly the first night. Then it depends on comfort, noise and how exhausted I am.

    • Yelly 29 March 2011 at 22:40 #

      Bless! Glad to know am not alone! 🙂

  2. teacupandcake 29 March 2011 at 19:04 #

    I can sleep just about anywhere! I love my sleep 🙂

    • Yelly 29 March 2011 at 22:40 #

      Oooooh lucky you! Am hoping tonight will be much better 🙂

Leave a Reply

