Enduring pain: an update

24 Mar

I’ve been to the dentist and he’s taken out the offending fragment.  It was a quick procedure but I think it was done so quickly because my dentist was also quite good.  He put me at ease by explaining how he would extract the fragment.  I listened as best as I could, but to be honest, I just wanted the offending little bugger out!  It took more than 2 administrations of anaesthetic, but after a few tries, my dentist has finally pulled out all the fragments of my molar.  Thank goodness!

The anaesthetic is wearing off (I had lost the power of clear speech for a while as the left side of my tongue felt completely numb!) but I’m not experiencing as much pain as I anticipated.  I could be quite wrong though.  I could be in for a difficult night!  But I know that even if I am to experience further discomfort for a few more days, it will be only for a few more days.  And then, I will be so much better without that offending fragment still lodged in my gum!

I will go back to proper blogging tomorrow.  I will reply to all the comments properly tomorrow.  But tonight, to celebrate, I am going to make another chocolate guinness cake to celebrate my tooth extraction.  I may not be able to eat it, yet, but seeing others enjoy the choccie cake is enough for me right now! 🙂

2 Responses to “Enduring pain: an update”

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966 24 March 2011 at 22:05 #

    You will feel sososos much better tomorrow. There is nothing worse than a tooth problem, anyone will tell you their own experiences with them. I had such bad luck with DDS and my teeth: it’s something I don’t wish to discuss. Heal well my friend.

  2. teacupandcake 25 March 2011 at 21:56 #

    Ouch. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

