Enduring pain

23 Mar

I am in agony—and I have the gift of melodrama!

To be completely honest, I have a tooth issue that I should’ve taken care of ages ago.  But I didn’t and I have no one else but myself to blame.  It’s a third molar that has been troubling me for over a decade now. 

I attempted to have it removed in my early twenties, but at the time, the dentist (I think oral surgeon might be a better way of describing her) explained that one of the roots of my impacted molar was hooked on a nerve.  I remember her injecting a lot of anaesthesia but I could feel the each tug that she made on the tooth.  She explained that what she did was to leave the problematic fragment of the tooth in the gum and that my gums would simply push the fragment out.  She forgot to tell me it would be irritatingly painful!  She sewed up my gum and that was the end of it.  I was so relieved then that I’d completely forgotten that I was supposed to come back for a follow-up surgery to remove the fragment.

Looking at what’s there now, it doesn’t look like it’s what you would call a “fragment” though, and believe you me, I have been staring at this monster erupting from my gum for a few days now.  I’m off to see the doctor tomorrow afternoon which is good.  But for now, I am thanking God for enabling those pharmaceutical experts for inventing the liquid Nurofen capsules because they’re working really well on my pain issues!

Photocredit:

Toothache – hubpages.com

 

5 Responses to “Enduring pain”

  1. Lian 23 March 2011 at 15:12 #

    Ouch! Good luck at the doctors tomorrow.

    • Yelly 23 March 2011 at 15:44 #

      Tomorrow can’t come soon enough though!

      • Narendra 24 March 2011 at 02:36 #

        poor u, girl…take care.. ^^ for ur tooth

  2. sanstorm 23 March 2011 at 22:03 #

    Good luck! Hope it’s over before you know it!

  3. Layla 24 March 2011 at 23:34 #

    aray. araaaaaaaay! naiimagine ko na. 😐

Leave a Reply

