St Patrick and my Tita Migen

17 Mar

I am in no way Irish but I do live in a place where St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated…so in the spirit of things,

Happy St Patrick’s Day!

Incidentally, St. Patrick’s Day holds a bit more significance to me in terms of family.  It is the birthday of my first ever art teacher.  She let me play with Prang watercolours and oils at a very young age.  One of my earliest memories is climbing up the stairs of my Lola Gening’s house and feeling the excitement of being able to play with colours.  At an early age, I was taught how to appreciate art supplies, and how to be responsible with them.  At the same time I was allowed to explore colour and colour combinations.

At 9, I was deemed old enough to be allowed to play on her portable typewriter.  I still remember how cute it was, how interesting (to me anyway) the blue colour was and how pristine the white sections were.  She encouraged me to learn to type (even if it was the two-finger method at the time! hey! I was 9!).  I played around with the typewriter and made test papers (I was, and still am, such a nerd!).  And then when I wanted to type out my script for a Christmas presentation for school, she let me use her typewriter and she proof read my story.

To my Tita Migen, who has always been supportive in everything that I do (and I do so appreciate all the love and support!), HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! It’s nearly the end of the day in the Philippines, what with the time difference, but know that I whispered a prayer for you this morning, and I wish for only the very best blessings of health, happiness and love for you!  I miss you muchly!

2 Responses to “St Patrick and my Tita Migen”

  1. Kira 17 March 2011 at 16:06 #

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too! 🙂

    • Yelly 18 March 2011 at 15:22 #

      and to you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

