Wow Filipino!

3 Mar

I love saying that I am Filipino.  I am very proud to be Filipino.  Mind you, I love seeing people’s reactions when I tell them what nationality I am.  People often assume that I am American or Canadian, because of my distinctly American accent (caused by watching Sesame Street and only English shows until I was in my later years of elementary school. It was even more established because, after having stayed with rellies in the States, I worked in call centres that demanded that I speak with a very American twang).  When I’m asked what part of the States I come from, people are suprised when I say that I come from the Philippines, and even more surprised when I say that a lot of Filipinos speak excellent English.

I’ve been in the UK nearly 3 years now and I find myself quite eager to read about the Philippines in the newspaper or hear about home in the news.  Time stops for me when I hear the word “Manila” or “the Philippines” or “Filipino” in news or if there’s a news article about someone Filipino.  After having said that though, most of the news about home that filters into international news is mostly cringeworthy.  It makes me sad because I know that there’s more to my country than the negative press that most people abroad hear about.

So imagine my suprise, and subsequent delight, when I read this article in the London Evening Standard today about the contribution that workers from abroad make to help keep the National Health Service running.  It featured Filipino nurse, Francis Cruz.  It felt good to read something positive about Filipinos (I’ve always said that Filipino workers are our country’s best export commodity–to the detriment of our own country.  But what can you do?  There aren’t enough jobs, and the jobs that can be had don’t always pay enough.  That’s why our countrymen leave.  Therein lies the challenge for each administration: find a solution to the job shortage problem so talented Filipinos don’t have to go overseas to earn a good living.  That’s a big ask because solving the job shortage problem is just the tip of the iceberg in the myriad issues that the Philippines has to deal with!).  It felt good to know that people are acknowledging the contribution that Filipino health workers are making in the National Health Service in the UK (in my experience, Filipinos are often viewed as domestic helpers or mail order brides).

Sometimes, a bit of good news can make all the difference.

2 Responses to “Wow Filipino!”

  1. Narendra 4 March 2011 at 16:08 #

    Go Flipinio Go!

  2. Patricia 20 September 2012 at 11:56 #

    Hello fellow Filipina Londoner!!! ^_^ I love you blog! Check out my one, I’m a new blogger… Nothing much yet tho… >_<

Leave a Reply

