Patience is truly a virtue

24 Feb

I pride myself on being patient (hmmm, now that I’ve actually written this sentence down, maybe I shouldn’t be so PROUD of the fact that I’m patient because maybe I’m not, and it’s just vanity that’s leading me to believe that I am?).  I can probably take a lot of needling.  But in everything, there are limits.

I don’t want to lose my temper.  I think, in fact, I’m more upset at the thought of me losing my temper than the actual needling.  So I’m hanging on to my patience for dear life.  In my head this is what I’m saying, every time this person starts breathing down my neck:

I know what you want to get done.  But you going on and on about what you want on where isn’t going to help me figure it out any faster.  I know you have great ideas, but sometimes translating IDEAS isn’t as easy as 1-2-3!  Shut up and just let me get on with trying to find out how to make those ideas happen.  If you think you can, then you do it!  I’d really like to see you try!  I really would!

I just really want to be left alone so I can get on with it 😦

I don’t think I’m good with confrontation.  That’s why I try to avoid it.  That’s why I try so hard to find a democratic solution…to everything.  I think this is why this person keeps trying to push my limits, whether the pushing is consciously or unconsciously done.  It’s because they’ve never encountered resistance from me.  This stems from my “pleaser” nature.  I know I have a backbone because I wouldn’t have survived nearly 3 years of living away from home if I didn’t.  I just have to make sure I really stand up for myself.  This needly person said that they thought I was too nice.  Well, fine then.  I shall stop being too nice.

Let’s start with YOU, shall we?

3 Responses to “Patience is truly a virtue”

  1. liannouwen 24 February 2011 at 13:49 #

    Again, I understand what you’re saying here. I try to avoid confrontation whenever possible. I just tell myself that it isn’t going to make it easier, or make people like me more when I tell them things they don’t want to hear.

    I guess sometimes it IS good to do so, and maybe we should just go for it! What’s the worst that can happen?

    • Yelly 24 February 2011 at 19:43 #

      I say we should listen to our instincts. I believe that peacemakers are always blessed. But there are times when we should say how we feel.

      Today, I did tell the needly person that if they wanted to get it done, they’d have to let me get on with it and I would tell them when it’s done. Until then they needed to stop pushing and leave me alone. Of course I was polite. But it worked! 🙂

      • liannouwen 25 February 2011 at 07:53 #

        You go girl! I’ll try it as well next time a situation comes up 😉

Leave a Reply

