Just breathe!

31 Jan

Mondays are always manic and today was no different.

My to-do list was long enough, but it seemed to keep growing as the day went on.  Even though I was ticking off things, things were being piled on my plate.  I’m grateful for the work, don’t get me wrong.  But there were things that were heaped on me that made me think, “Hang on, aren’t you supposed to be doing that?”  Several times during the day, I had to bite my tongue because I was this close to saying, “You thought about it, you do it!”

The good thing about being at the confidence level that I am at now, and despite the fact that I seem to have a “can do” attitude, I’ve learned the value of saying no.  I’ve learned to make sure that the work that is heaped on me is something I can deal with, and the work that is assigned to me is something that is realistically achievable.

I had minor irritations today.  I had my area all to myself on Friday and I find more and more that I’m more able to finish things when it is quiet (the person I share space with can be quite vocal and sometimes it does get on my nerves :().  But sometimes, there must be compromises.  Sometimes one just needs to learn to take it on the chin and simply breathe.

My granny always said that if you can’t say anything good, don’t say anything at all.  And today, I don’t think I could be sunny and sweet and patient.  So I kept silent and took deep, calming breaths.

 

Just thought I’d remind everyone that the blog giveaway is now open 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Just breathe!”

  1. Layla 31 January 2011 at 23:52 #

    Tita Karen says, take a deep breath, and then, say “Shit!” she guarantees that it works. Haha.

    • Yelly 1 February 2011 at 13:13 #

      Done that! Haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

