Those Toink Moments

25 Jan

You know that sound effect when cartoon characters do something silly (and they end up massively embarassing themselves, or in Wile E. Coyote’s case, causes him to fall off a cliff!)?  I always thought it sounded like a “toink”.  I’ve had my fair share of toink moments in the last 24 hours.

Last night:

The scene: At a restaurant, we had just arrived and we wanted to be seated so we could have dinner.  Suddenly a girl appears in front of me, looking at me expectantly.

Me: Table for two please?
Girl: (looks at me blankly)
Me: (a little louder this time) Table for two please?
Girl: (looking very horrified and waving her arms) Oh! I don’t work here!

Cue sound:  TOINK!!!

Today:

The scene: Me working busily at my desk.  My colleague’s  phone rings and because she’s at a meeting, I pick up her phone from mine.

Me: Hello, good morning!
Client: (asks to speak to my colleague)
Me: Oh she’s not at her desk at the moment.  She’s at a meeting.  Can I help at all?
Client: Ollie Miller.
Me: I’m sorry? (I honestly thought he wanted me to note it down—THEN it dawns on me!OH! YOU’LL EMAIL HER! (at this point I am wishing for the ground to swallow me whole! I must’ve left my brain in London or on the Tube somewhere near Canada Water?!?).

Cue sound: TOINK!!!

2 Responses to “Those Toink Moments”

  1. Narendra 25 January 2011 at 14:20 #

    hahhahahaaa…good for laughs..

  2. Layla 25 January 2011 at 14:49 #

    hahahahahaha, panalo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

