My Chronicle of Narnia

23 Jan

I have always loved reading.  But reading C.S. Lewis came quite late to me.  I think I finally managed to finish reading the Chronicles of Narnia the year they brought out The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe.

I have a funny Narnia story.  It all started with Russell Howard.  He had this anecdote about how he would open the doors of his wardrobe when he was younger hoping to find Narnia.  So where does my story come into this, you ask.  I’m getting to it 😉

Once, on a trip to a DIY/hardware store, I had this urge to just fling open the doors of one of the wardrobes on display and shout “Narnia!”.  Mind you, unlike Russell Howard, I really wasn’t expecting to see Narnia.  I just thought it was funny.  It was quiet day for the store so I thought I’d give in to the urge.  I was quite pleased with myself as I got a snicker from my dear roommate.  It wasn’t until I heard someone else chuckling that I realised we weren’t quite as alone as I thought.  I closed the wardrobe doors carefully and saw that an elderly couple had seen my Narnia moment.  I gave them a sheepish grin and we all walked away from that slightly embarassing moment (more embarassing from me really, but strangely, my impromptu moment of silliness wasn’t as cringe-worthy as I thought it would be!).

But the story doesn’t finish there.  After the DIY/hardware store, we headed to the grocery to do our regular grocery shop.  When we reached the cheese section, we ran into the elderly couple who had seen my Narnia moment.  We exchanged smiles, theirs more knowing than mine I’m sure, and the elderly gentleman said, “Back from Narnia then?”

It was then that I really had to laugh.  I bet you at some point I was a topic of conversation for them.  The day they saw a weird Asian girl looking for Narnia in the wardrobes!

3 Responses to “My Chronicle of Narnia”

  1. Narendra 23 January 2011 at 15:16 #

    Oh Lucy ( Yelly ) dear..Prince Edward is looking for you..Don’t you ever leave your brother..

    Back home..Aslan just became dad to 13243353rd cub..do sent him a congratulatory msg

    Just kidding Lucy..Oops Yelly..really loved this..

  2. Yelly 29 January 2011 at 19:43 #

    Thanks for the pingback! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thought 132: Saturday’s Selections #2 « Two Hundred and Ten Thoughts - 29 January 2011

    […] 1. I am sure there are still doorways to Narnia out there waiting to be discovered so don’t give … […]

Leave a Reply

