This Is My Blog Story

14 Jan

One of the suggested topics was to write about why I started blogging.  So that made me ask myself the great existential question:  Why did I start blogging?

I started blogging in…2004 (I think).  It was on a different blog hosting site which was popular among my colleagues in PeopleSupport.

It kind of worried me that I started blogging because I had a deep-seated narcissistic tendencies and that the diva in me (even as I type this, I feel myself wince inwardly at the term diva, because I do not see myself as one and have never done!) need to have her public know she was alive and well.

I think I started blogging because I was a diarist.  For as long as I can remember, I felt the need to write, to record my days (however tedious and run-of-the-mill my activities were!).  A group of people at the call centre I used to work in were writers like me and they’d all started blogs.  I started my blog on another blog hosting site and I enjoyed writing the entries.  I loved being able to just log on and unburden (to anyone who would listen! haha!).

These days I blog because I want to share my cooking exploits to rest of my family.  This new incarnation of my blog was inspired partly by my Tita Bing, who planted the idea in my head a few months after I’d moved to England (she said people would probably want to know about my experiences and about my cooking! haha! I love it that my Tita thinks my cooking experiments are good enough to share with people!)and partly by my book project (which is still in its early stages—I must get back to working on that particular project!).  Plus, I do love getting validation from people (HUGE HINT: would love proper comments please!) because I feel like I’m not the only geeky weirdo thinking the way I do!

So that is my blog story in a nutshell.

2 Responses to “This Is My Blog Story”

  1. kolembo 14 January 2011 at 14:25 #

    Loved this, could see you in your words!

    • Yelly 14 January 2011 at 16:06 #

      Awww bless! I’ve just edited it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

