Let Me Entertain Me!

12 Jan

I didn’t know what to write about today, and I didn’t want to moan about the rain (this is after reading an article on the Metro saying that bloggers who are negative and who use the word “worse” a lot are most probably highly neurotic!).  Negativity is not good on a gray day.  The day is gray enough without moaning to make it worse (eeeks!  there I’ve done it!  I am now more neurotic than an inbred Persian cat!).

Anyway (let’s get back on track before I digress even further), because I was lacking inspiration I headed to the Mecca of Postaday bloggers.  I went to The Daily Post to get inspiration…and a blog topic!  And, as usual, I wasn’t disappointed.  The topic was “How Do You Stay Entertained?”

Now that topic just gave me another excuse to rave about my Kindle (Amazon really should pay me for all this free promotion, shouldn’t they?).  I’ve only had a few days (it was a Christmas gift! :)) and I don’t know, I seem to be more attached to it now.  It never leaves my bag and I think it now is a factor in terms of bag purchasing.  The bag must be able to accommodate the Kindle!  Haha!

Kindle promotion aside, I suppose because I mostly stayed in when I was little (my dad wouldn’t allow me to play with the neighbourhood kids because we lived on a very busy street and it wasn’t good to be seen playing on the streets, aside from it being very dangerous) I mostly did things that didn’t require someone else’s participation.  I had my dolls, my books and my paper and crayons to entertain me.  I mostly read books.  I grew up with the Childcraft books and the Lollipop Dragon activity books.  I had TV, but I don’t really remember spending a lot of time watching the telly.  I remember reading books.

Books became my favourite companions.  It’s true that books take you places (apart from Childcraft book #10 which was called Places To Know, in my edition, it was the brown one!).

But these days I read, read tweets, wander around aimlessly on Facebook, blog, play Fruit Ninja, in between bouts of watching TV and going on culinary (ha! how pretentious do I feel when using the word “culinary”!  domestic goddess I am not!) adventures.

Hmmmm.  That’s  all I think I have to say about the topic.  And I kind of feel like I should be saying something else. Hmmm….

3 Responses to “Let Me Entertain Me!”

  1. Kira 13 January 2011 at 09:29 #

    Hi Evie! Read that article too, and now I’m wondering if I’m neurotic too since I do use “though” a lot when I write my articles. Pfft. Haha 🙂

  2. Yelly 13 January 2011 at 13:01 #

    Hahaha! I say ignore the article and write the way you usually do. Sometimes all this psychobabble is just that, psychobabble! 🙂

  3. Layla 13 January 2011 at 14:05 #

    I miss those Lollipop Dragon books! That’s how I learned to make boxes (boxes na hindi pantay. haha)

Leave a Reply

