2011 Reading List

10 Jan

So…I’m not normally as organised as this.  But now that I’ve got a Kindle (thank you! thank you! :D) and now that I’ve been given lovely books to read, I’ve decided to read more books and actually read books.  To quote Cameron Diaz’ character Amanda in The Holiday, “I want to actually read a book and not just some magazine!”  I admit that I haven’t quite made the time to read books that I really want to read (and not just the romance novel standby which I could probably read in an hour and a half or less!).  So based on the books I have on my Kindle and the books I have been given for Christmas, the books I’ve already bought myself, and the classics that I want to read again, I have my 2011 reading list:

  1. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
  2. Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert
  3. Wicked: The Life And Times Of the WIcked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire
  4. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory
  5. The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory
  6. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
  7. From Notting Hill With Love…Actually Ali McNamara
  8. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  9. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  10. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  11. The Bible – from cover to cover!!!
  12. an anthology of poetry — this I still have to find!!!

I’m hoping that this list will grow and that I will at least manage half of this list by March.  I really must start reading in earnest.  TV should only be a second option!

Leave a Reply

