Crabby, crampy and cantankerous

6 Jan

There are days
There are days when your life clouds over
And the world gets so dark
That all at once you can’t tell night from day

There are times
When your heart cries this isn’t happening
But the truth is cold and real
I know the storm won’t go away!

The lyrics are from Ellen’s song Her Or Me in Miss Saigon (which I confess is my absolute favourite musical!).  But they aptly describe the way that I feel today.  Today is not really a good day.  It’s one of those days when you think, “Eve, now why did you just have to go and taste the forbidden fruit, huh?  Now all women have to suffer because they’re female!”—well obviously, you probably will only think that if you’re female, or inately sympathetic to females!

I wasn’t feeling well this morning and my day wasn’t really turning out to be one of the good days that I was hoping it would be.  You know sometimes when you wake up feeling absolutely horrible and then the rest of the day seems to work itself out?  Well, that didn’t happen today.  There was a series of minor irritations that just niggled at me.  And since I wasn’t in the best of moods because I was cramping all day, I wasn’t in the most patient of moods either.  There was quite an inner struggle not to snipe and be snide.  Although, now, in hindsight, because people seem to think I have such a sunny disposition, anything I say in a sarcastic manner might not be taken seriously.  There are definite cons to being a smiler.

Dinner was really nice (it was fish, baby corn, baby leeks, baby asparagus cooked in a paper parcel with salt, pepper, white wine, olive oil, lemon and butter).  It was light but filling.  And for a while everything was right in my world.  Then I felt sick and had to run to the toilet because my body couldn’t seem to keep the food down.

I’m just really happy the day is over and I can sleep.  Tomorrow, after all, is FRIDAY! 🙂

2 Responses to “Crabby, crampy and cantankerous”

  1. rbs 7 January 2011 at 14:10 #

    I feel your pain, and LOVE your writing!

    • Evie 9 January 2011 at 11:29 #

      awww bless! thanks! 🙂 am over the worst now so here’s to feeling cheerful again eh?

Leave a Reply

