Habits and homesickness

15 Dec

Argh!  Sinking into old habits.  Not writing anything on the blog.  Not finishing the book am reading.  I’ve got soooooo many books on my reading list and I don’t think there’s enough time to finish all of them before the end of the year.

I’ve got another section to the blog in the works.  I already have ideas for entries (and pictures!!!).  But have I written anything for it?  OF COURSE NOT!  I am fast becoming the master procrastinator (hmmmm, another thing to add to my ever-growing list of New Year’s resolutions.  I’m stopping at 10 as they should always be S.M.A.R.T goals—you know, Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely.  And, I think, any more than 10 is never smart!).

I’m finding myself experiencing bouts of homesickness more often now.  I blame the holiday season really.  Now, mind you. I’m not at all Scroogey and I don’t hate Christmas like some people.  It’s just that Christmas in Manila is so different.  Not that Christmas in England is any less fun.  It’s just that I have more family around.

Work is winding down because of the impending holidays.  I’m worried that I’m going to be twiddling my thumbs in the days between Christmas and New Year because there’s not a lot to do.  I’m one of the newer people so it automatically means I’ve drawn the short straw.  But I don’t seem to mind as much going to work then.  The office will be quiet and I have a filing project I want to get started on.  Besides, I always say, there’s only so much daytime TV a body can absorb, even if it is Christmassy daytime TV!

Right.  I must crack on, if I’m to finish all the work on my plate in time for me to leave early today to go to the dentist.  Oh joy.  How scintillating is my life?!?  Not very.

Leave a Reply

