Eat, Pray, Love: The Movie

7 Nov

I loved the book.  I absolutely loved the book!  It helped me through one of the toughest times in my life and helped me write a map out of the maze that I had landed myself in.  I had written down my thoughts in the copy of the book that I originally had.  After being lost in the maze, and after writing down my thoughts (I don’t think I’m being fanciful if I say that that book was bloodstained from my gut-spilling!), I was ready to find my way out of the haze that I was in.  I threw away that book.  I was ready to begin my life out of the maze.

Nearly 2 years on, I hear that a movie about Eat, Pray, Love was done and it had Julia Roberts was in it.  What more could a fan ask for, eh?  A movie based on the book that just about changed her life, and the central character played by an actress on her “People I Most Admire” list.  I heard (and read) a lot of negative press about the movie.  But that didn’t stop me from wanting to watch it.  It was more a contrary desire to see the movie more than anything.  Besides, a movie with Julia Roberts in it can’t be THAT bad!

I didn’t bawl or weep during the movie.  There were certain moments when I certainly got teary eyed and a tear rolled silently down my cheek (if you’re curious, it was that scene where Liz was praying to God in the bathroom.  I’ve had moments like that exactly, except they were more like Liz Gilbert’s in the book; it was gut-wrenching weeping, asking God to help me, to tell me what to do because I had no idea how in the hell I was going to get out of the situation I had landed myself in).  I knew exactly how that felt, and I certainly think that was how my prayers in the bathroom started.  Except I don’t think I did it as beautifully as Julia Roberts (there was toilet tissue and lots of snot involved!  Ewww! I know!).

If the movie was a book reader, it would be a skimmer–you know, someone who scans the book and stops at the interesting bits.  I understand that they had to have creative license, to make the movie more screenplay funny.  If you haven’t read the book, this would be a good introduction to it.

But my recommendation?  Read the book. I don’t really care how those naysayers say that the book was about a woman indulging her self-centred whims.  It’s about finding oneself.  I remember watching Elizabeth Gilbert being interviewed by Oprah (which is what started my search for the book in the first place!) and I remember her saying she didn’t profess to be an expert, that she just wanted to share her experiences, just in case it helps someone out.  I know she won’t read this.  But she has helped me a lot.  It helped to know that I wasn’t alone.  That I wasn’t the only one who went through feelings and thoughts like that.

I threw away the book after I’d written down all my thoughts during that really difficult time in my life.  I’ve bought a new copy and I’ve started reading it again.  And yet again, Elizabeth Gilbert’s story is touching my heart and touching my soul.

Leave a Reply

