Being a fan girl

3 Nov

I love celebrities.  It’s not a guilty pleasure because I don’t particularly hide the fact that I thrive on news about celebrities.  I’m not particularly picky, as well, so B, C and D-lister news is welcome!  Ha!  I remember going home on Sunday evenings wanting to watch The Buzz or going to my best friend’s house to watch showbiz talkshows over cups of coffee and slices of cake.

When I was little, it was mostly seeing prominent politicians at my parents’ office functions (my parents work for the government, you see.  My dad’s retired but my mom’s still working for one of the agencies in the Department of Science and Technology).  My family, on both sides seem to know a lot of people in government.  I think that stems from the fact that my grandfather held a fairly high place in science and development and one of my aunts on my mom’s side worked for the more prominent government departments.  Not that I classify politicians and career government officials as celebrities, but hey, they are in the news a lot!

When my mom and I went to the States in 2000 (to attend a family reunion), our point of entry was LAX.  After clearing customs and immigration we went to the check-in counter to check our bags through to continue the rest of our journey to Atlanta.  I had a trolley for our bags and after we checked our bags through, I turned to return the trolley to one of the stands and who should be standing behind me but Adrian Grenier.  Now this was waaaaay before his Entourage Days, but I’d just watched his movie Drive Me Crazy (it was mostly Melissa Joan Hart’s movie, really).  He asked if he could have my trolley instead and all I could say was, “Okay.”

I saw Giselle Sanchez, or at least, I think I saw her walking down Regent Street a few months ago.  I mean, if that wasn’t her, then I think she has a doppleganger.

When I used to work in Makati, celebrity sightings were a dime a dozen because they frequented the malls that were near my office, where we would have lunch occasionally.  Plus I had to walk through the mall to get to the MRT train station, so a celebrity sighting was inevitable.

Lately, my brushes with celebrity have taken on a more…virtual turn:  on Twitter.  I can’t deny that I feel a little buzz when a celeb tweets me back.  It makes me smile.  I’ve had people like THE Miss Lea Salonga reply to a question, Jason Manford, comedian par excellence (at least in my opinion, anyway), has replied to a comment I made, Andi Osho, an up-and-coming commedienne replied to a comment I made last night about Philadelphia cheese (that’s another story completely, the Philadelphia cheese thing, and not Andi Osho) and just this morning, Jim Paredes of the APO Hiking Society tweeted back!

But the celeb sighting to beat all sightings is seeing Stephen Fry buy tickets for Avenue Q while I was waiting to see the show.  And then, he came to see the same show we’d booked to see.  Stephen Fry and I were breathing the same theatre are for about 2 1/2 hours!  How cool was that?!?

I wonder who I’m going to see next?

 

3 Responses to “Being a fan girl”

  1. Layla 3 November 2010 at 11:20 #

    celebrity ba si Kuya Kim Atienza? haha. so far, sya pa lang nagrereply sa tweet ko. ahaha.

    • Evie 3 November 2010 at 14:26 #

      OO! Basta nasa TV celeb! hahaha! 🙂

  2. Layla 6 November 2010 at 13:46 #

    yeeees.kapooow!

Leave a Reply

