Bible hunt

2 Sep

It took me a while to find a bible to replace the one that I had.  It took me several weeks to find a bible.  I looked at what was available online and what was available in the bookstores that were near me (via their websites online).  I was looking for “the one.”  You might think that it’s just a book, or just a bible, or that I’m simply being fastidious but it seemed key.  I mean, the bible was going to be my faith map.  It was important that it be the right one.

To be honest, I was quite surprised that there weren’t bibles left, right and centre in England.  I didn’t think I was going to have as hard a time as I did.  I honestly thought I was going to be spoilt for choice.  England is where the Methodist faith originated and I thought with that kind of history, people would take their bibles a little more seriously. I was born and raised in a Methodist home (my father is Jewish, however, and while that sounds like a complicated set-up, when one has lived in that kind of an environment, one finds that it enriches one’s faith), I went to church every Sunday, I went to daily vacation church school, I taught Sunday School, I was active in church and I sang in the choir.  So there I was, asking about a bible and it surprised me that I got a surprised look from the store assistant.  I was, apparently, one of the first people, in a long while, who had asked about a bible.

I received another mini-shock when I went to the section I was directed to.  I had expected a “bible section” or at least a section devoted to world religions or something like that.  I found nothing of the sort.  I found the “philosophy” section.  It was suprising (understatement, really!) to discover that the bible was viewed as a piece of philosophical literature.  I guess when one grows up valuing the bible differently, it’s always a little surprising (or shocking, in some cases) that people don’t share your values.  I knew why it was viewed as a piece of philosophical literature, I knew that intellectually, but I couldn’t really wrap my head around it.

That experience doesn’t detract me from my happiness though.  My new faith map feels right in my hands.  Like I was meant to have it.  It was the last one on the shelf.  Like it was placed there for me 🙂

Like Goldilocks after finding Baby Bear’s chair, bowl of porridge, and bed, it was just right.  For me, anyway.

Leave a Reply

