Day 6 and it's Friday!

20 Aug

Don’t you just love Fridays?  I don’t necessarily think that Friday is my favourite day.   I like most days, I think.  And I also have my reasons why I don’t like some days of the week.

It’s supposed to be a changeable day today.  And it is.  Work is slow and fast at different intervals.  Today I find myself looking for things to do.  One thing I’ve learned (and I’ve learned this lesson well, especially this week!) is I need to make sure that I go through my work with a fine-toothed comb.  I usually do, but somehow, this week, I let my standards slip.  Not that it’s unlike me, I have moments when I’m not so meticulous, but I keep kicking myself for past mistakes that I don’t think I want to add to my list of mistakes as am still kicking myself for mistakes that I made in high school!

I had seafood pasta for lunch.  It was a good lunch and I was ready for it.  It’s the second to the last day of The Challenge and I am approaching the end of this challenge with mixed feelings.  I’ve enjoyed it though, surprisingly.  I don’t want to sit here and become to cerebral about the diet.  Because that’s what it was, a diet.  I must admit, I do feel better and I have a better feel (for lack of a better word) for how it feels to overeat.  I am more aware of how much rice expands in my tummy after I’ve consumed it.  But like I said, I don’t want to be too cerebral…not on a Friday! 🙂

I looked out the window because I could hear the wind blowing.  It was whooshing!  The sound made me smile and I remembered a phrase from a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson that we were told to memorise in elementary school:  Oh wind, a-blowing wind all day long, Oh wind that sings so loud a song!

I feel that I have to share the entire poem now:

I saw you toss the kites on high
And blow the birds about the sky;
And all around I heard you pass,
Like ladies’ skirts across the grass—
O wind, a-blowing all day long,
O wind, that sings so loud a song!

I saw the different things you did,
But always you yourself you hid.
I felt you push, I heard you call,
I could not see yourself at all—
O wind, a-blowing all day long,
O wind, that sings so loud a song!

O you that are so strong and cold,
O blower, are you young or old?
Are you a beast of field and tree,
Or just a stronger child than me?
O wind, a-blowing all day long,
O wind, that sings so loud a song!

Leave a Reply

