Hello world!

7 Aug

Wow!  I’m actually taking the plunge and blogging again!

I had a blog that I used to update every day.  I liked to think that I had something to say really.  It was mostly a lot of trivial things that were important to me.  I guess that’s what blogging is.  Writing about what’s important to the blogger.  I thought of calling this blog “Eat, Pray, Live” but I felt that that was too close to Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love” and I would feel an awful fraud by attempting to ride on her coat tails so to speak.  That being said, you should see my copy of that book!  I’ve read it so many times it looks pitiful!  Okay, I know I’m digressing.

I fancied myself to be a writer.  One day, I’ll be able to write that book.  I really believe that.  But for now, I’m writing just so that I can write.  I don’t mind it if no one really reads my blog (although I will engage in unabashed self-promotion via Twitter later, methinks!).  I just want to be able to put my thoughts down.

I used to feel scatty (and slightly embarrassed!) about my blogs because there was never really a central theme.  I used to write about everything and anything.  I’d like to be a little more organised than that now.  I haven’t quite decided what I want to write about really.  I know that it’ll mostly be about food!

Food has always played an important part of my life.  It wasn’t just what I put in my mouth so my body would be nourished and I wouldn’t, well, in a word, die.  My mom is a fabulous cook and when I was growing up, I always wanted to cook as well as she did.  My aunts, on both sides of my family, are amazing in the kitchen.  One of my aunts even had a bakeshop and a catering business, and yes, she was THAT good 🙂  She had the most amazing chocolate cake…but I’ll save that story for another day.

Food wasn’t just a family thing, it was a religious experience as well.  It’s a bit of a stretch, but boy, did the congregation in my home church in Fairview Park, in the Philippines love to eat.  Every meeting, every choir practice and every fellowship, food was definitely in attendance and was always a consideration.  It was a way of getting together and sharing.  I shake my head and smile about all the meetings and all the impromptu get-togethers that have happened in the past.  And don’t get me started on the food.  Once during a church anniversary lunch, I think we had a whole roasted pig and a whole roasted…cow?

Food is also about friendships.  My best friends and I would always talk over a cup of coffee.  It didn’t matter if we were sitting in a coffee shop or sitting in our living rooms.  We would talk, watch a movie, sing karaoke or just talk, but food was always a part of it.

My best memories always seem to involve food.  So that’s what I’m going to write about.  Mostly.  The blog won’t necessarily just be about food, or the recipes I try out or the restaurants I go to.  But because my journey through life is punctuated with food, I figured it would be a good place to start.

I can’t guarantee that it’ll be rip-roaringly funny, or scintillatingly interesting, but you’re welcome to grab a cup of coffee and a cookie and have a look-see into what my thoughts are like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

