Literary refuge

22 Feb

I used to be a voracious reader when I was much younger.  I’d read maybe 2 or 3 books a week.  I remember when I was 12, because my school had the complete collection of the 56 Nancy Drew books (I think they’re now called the Classic Series), my goal was to finish reading all the books by the end of the school year.  I would borrow 3 books a week (I was limited by the fact that we could only borrow 3 books at a time).  I finished reading all of them just after Christmas break!  That would probably be 4 and half months, give or take a few days.  I loved being able to lose myself in the books, in the twists and turns of the plots.  Books would rescue me from boredom, and, inevitably, rescue me from failing a subject at school (yes, we do sometimes, need to be reminded that we have to read those schoolbooks in order to learn!).  Books were my friends (and again, I realise that somehow this might sound desperately sad and lonely to some people!) and at times when I was at loose ends, I would turn to a book.

I remember loving the environment of bookstores and libraries.  It was such a joy to root around and look at the books on the shelf.  I had no desire to read ALL of them, because I knew, realistically, not every single tome on that shelf would interest me.  But I’d love being able to run my hand along the spines of the books, especially in the Main Library at UP Diliman, where I went to college.  I loved going to bookstores, whether they be the huge capuccino brewing chains, or the small independent stores.  Just smelling that “new book” scent was exciting for me!

When Daily Post suggested “Refuge” as the next photo challenge, I knew I had to put something up that represented my love of books and libraries.

Photocredits:

Trinity College Library – http://www.bookrabbit.com

2 Responses to “Literary refuge”

  1. liannouwen 22 February 2011 at 14:10 #

    Nice picture! And a huge bookstore (or library maybe?). I’d love to walk around in there some day!

    • Yelly 22 February 2011 at 14:49 #

      It’s a library. I think it’s the Trinity College in Cambridge but I could be wrong. I didn’t take the picture :) teehee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

